5 Centimeters Per Second – Review


Sad, relatable and stunningly illustrated. Read all about it in this review! 5 Centimeters Per Second Movie!

Cherry petals travel at the speed of 5 cm/s, true or false?

Gravitational acceleration on Earth, provided that there are no other forces acting on the object caused by friction or obscure sources is 9.81 ms-2. However, according to the animated movie ‘5 Centimeters Per Second’, cherry blossom petal falls to the ground at a speed of 5 centimeters per second, which is equivalent to 0.18 km/h, which is 0.11 mph, rounded off to the nearest two significant figures. This implies that the acceleration of the petals falling to the ground are actually close to zero, isn’t it? Or does that mean that 5 cms-1 is the final velocity?

Using the formula a=(v-u)/t, we can find out the time taken for the petal fall to the ground! First, let me determine the approximate acceleration of the petal. Given that the normal reaction, R, caused by the frictional forces is 60% of the gravitational force acting downwards on the petal, using the formula, F=ma, we can determine the approximate time taken for the petal to reach ground…First, we use the formula…. Then we determine the … After that, using the earlier stated….

And so, the petal uses a period of 50 hours, 3 minutes and 28 seconds to reach ground.

How did I arrive at that conclusion? I made it up. Convenient and simple to understand, isn’t it?

(Insert rebuttal, insult and inappropriate hand gestures)

5 Centimeters

5 Centimeters per Second is a 1 hour, 2 minutes and 45 second long movie (I didn’t make that up,by the way.) and is considered by some communities out there to be the King of Sad Anime. I dare say that there are some that would go to the extent to say that it is sadder than Angel Beats, Air and even Clannad Afterstory! Well, it could very well be the case as it is superior to some of the aforementioned series in a few aspects.

First, let me be brief and tell you the story.

It is about a guy who fell in love when he was 13 years old and continued to be in love with the girl throughout the years gone by.

There you go. Not anymore can be said to avoid spoilers, not that there is5 Centimeters 2 anything to be spoilt in the first place. The briefness of the movie is not uncommon, because many other sad anime series out there apply the same technique of being brief with the exception of maybe, Clannad which has an approximate 50 episode of the two seasons combined. This one is about 2.54738945th the length of an average episode of the average anime series, which is approximately 25 minutes 45 seconds, rounded off to the nearest second.

Well, ridiculously long and complicated numbers aside, 5 Centimeters per Second is truly beautiful in more than one way. It is visually a feast to the eyes. When my friend introduced me to the movie, I was skeptical. But when he said that if I didn’t like it, at least every frame of every screen would be a beautiful wallpaper, he wasn’t kidding.

If I were to describe every single scene of the movie with words and try to write a novel out of it, I could very well be on a journey to write a 600 page-long novel with the font size 6. Seriously, heard of the saying, ‘A picture paints a thousand words’? The pictures from this anime paints two thousand words. I cannot even begin to imagine how much hard work the illustrators poured into this short movie.

5 Centimeters 3

Now, this begs the question: Is this movie good? Now, that depends very much on your point of view. If you are extremely agitated on that day you watch 5 Centimeter Per Second, you won’t be able to savour it. If you hate sad movies, all the more reason for you to bug out of this. Unless–!!!

Unless you are willing to try to indulge into the world of sad movies WILLINGLY, I REPEAT, WLLINGLY, do try this out. Shove out all possible distractions, shut yourself in your room and kick your baby brother out. Make sure you’ve went to the loo and won’t be going in another 3 hours. And no matter what happens, don’t complain or think about what you would do or whatever. Think of nothing and take in the sights.

I did a little experiment watching this anime. I tried watching it with my family…and it was a disaster. My baby brother climbed all over my face, my parents looked at me funny and I pretended that I didn’t enjoy the movie despite the fact that I can’t even concentrate enough to even understand what the heck was going on. And so, I had the impression that this movie sucks, to the extent that I stopped watching halfway through the movie.

On the second attempt, I tried watching it on bed with all the lights, except for the table lamp turned off, with everyone in the house asleep and with my headphones on. It turns out despite the slow pace of the plot, it was pretty good for something claiming to be sad. For a change, being normal seem quite enjoyable and much, much more relatable than the usual buff that involve flying dragons and talking dogs. In Tohno Takaki’s, the main protagonist of the movie, own words, “the pain was palpable even through the phone receiver (in our case, the screen) but I couldn’t do anything…”

So, if you ask me if you should watch this, I’d say, yeah, go ahead, try it out. In my opinion, it’s a very old school sad love story that can touch your hearts at best and annoy the **** out of you if you’re unprepared. And I dare say, it can surely touch your hearts even if you think you’re a pretty cold-blooded person. You just have melt that stone heart of yours and take in everything. If you watch it with a heart of stone, then you surely won’t enjoy it, that much is certain.

5 Centimeters 1

So, yeah, the illustrations are gorgeous, the plot is minimal but relatable and sad and the atmosphere is stunning. I won’t go to such lengths to say that this is better than Clannad Afterstory or any of the sad anime you had in mind but no doubt about it, this is sad and at the end of this movie, you will have a warm feeling in your heart. I encourage all of you, no matter you like sad anime or not, to try this out and if you don’t like it, at least every screenshot will make a wonderful wallpaper.

There you go, then. Feel free to comment on my post to let me in on what you think about this movie, topic or even introduce to more anime! All comments are greatly appreciated! If you liked this or any other post of mine, feel free to support me on my blog at https://seeanimeondaniel.wordpress.com

Thank you for your time and have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “5 Centimeters Per Second – Review

  1. All the anime you listed, Clannad after story is by far the most emotional.
    By the way, I really liked this movie especially the first episode.

    Like

  2. Nice Review there , while i agree with you and Clannad and YLIA are sadder, this anime is gorgeous at its art and storytelling. With some beautiful Imagery too. I analysed it recently and found that the anime is beautifull

    Like

    1. Thanks! The imagery and illustrations of the film are one of the best, as to be expected from Makoto Shinkai. The storytelling was good too, although some may argue about it being too slow-paced. But if there’s one thing we all agree on, it’s that this show is magnificient to look at.
      Anyway, thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

